Making Gak.. round 1!

Here is the tutorial I used to make the gak/glitter…

http:// http://www.the36thavenue.com/how-to-make-glitter-slime

I didn’t have nearly the right texture with the dollar store glitter glue but I added a container of Elmer’s white glue and some extra borax water and finally got the gak texture I was hoping for. Next time I will try Elmer’s glitter glue to see if it makes a difference!

Ingredients
1 Elmer’s glitter glue (11fl oz I think)
1 tsp borax
1 cup water
1 tbsp water

Directions
Mix 1 tbsp water with glue
In a seperate bowl mix borax and water. Combine.

Now my findings/what I did….

Dollar Tree Glitter Glue (9 small containers)
1 Elmer’ s white glue
1 tbsp water
1 cup water
2 tsps borax

I followed the same directions but I would suggest adding the borax/water to glue slowly and make sure it mixes well before dumping it all in….if it is too thin, try adding more borax to the water.

image

image

image

image

Thr color turned out ugly. I am a bad planner. I didn’t even think about checking the fluid ounces on the elmers glitter glue to make sure I bought enough cheap glitter glue….so I bought 3 packs of glue (one red, silver and gold in each package) and ended up having to use all of them. I suppose I could have added food coloring but I finished just as it was time to wake everyone up…next time! I am aiming for a frozen ice glitter slime for my daughter’s 3rd birthday party! Which reminds me, my husband found the most perfect snowflakes at the Dollar Tree, they look so similar to the snowflakes in Frozen!

I am going to glue some together and try and recreate some mini chandeliers for her party! Stay tuned for more party planning DIY. I am also making Sven antlers and Elsa crowns out of felt… hot chocolate mixes in mason jars…and more if I have time!

Have you thrown a Frozen party? What are your must haves?

Leave a comment